//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

WJI Day 3: Capturing the Moments

     “A good snapshot keeps a moment from running away”

                                                                                           – Euroda Welty

Photography requires a great deal of thought. That’s the lesson I learned today as I trudged the streets of Asheville, searching for something that stood out to me. I tried to created a composed shot. I thought of lines, angles,… photography is an art!

And that’s the message Tiffany Owens passed on during her session with us. I appreciate the fact she began with the camera basics. Prior to this, words like shutter speed, aperture, and IOS were nothing more than the jargon photographers used.

Now I’ve learned these settings are a lot more than professional talk. I remember going over each function of my camera’s settings in my head as I took pictures, just so I didn’t mix them up.

Taking pictures and editing seems to put a ton of power in the hands of journalists. We have the “freedom” to edit it as we please.

But that’s when honesty kicks in, just as Owens explained. It’s our responsibility as Christians and dutiful journalists to relay what we see in the pictures we take. That’s true freedom for me.

At the end of a day spent trying to capture moments, I know I have A LOT to learn, but I only see a path of possibilities ahead.

~ Quotes of the Day~

  • Photography opens people’s eyes so they can stop and think
  • Photos have dialect. You have the chance to let them speak in so may ways.
  • Our first calling is to love our neighbor. Every other calling comes after that.

About Onize Ohikere

Onize Ohikere is a senior at Minnesota State University Moorhead double majoring in broadcast and documentary journalism, with a minor in public relations. She works at her university's broadcast news station, Campus News and writes for the weekly newspaper, The Advocate. Originally from Nigeria, Onize will graduate in this Fall.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Categories